Good Treats

This week’s post will be short and sweet. The weather’s supposed to be fairly nice, so I’m hoping folks will be out enjoying a taste of spring. Take your dogs for a walk! 🙂

I spend a lot of time on the blog talking about what we shouldn’t do. This week, I’m focusing on some things you CAN do. In particular, I’m going to put together a list of treats that I think are OK for pets to have.

I’m giving everyone the benefit of the doubt as far as calorie control goes. Remember that if you’re treating, take a little kibble out of the bowl to make up for it.

Veggies

Carrots, celery, cucumber, green beans, corn, peas, lettuce
691px FrenchBeans

Fruits

Blueberries, strawberries, melon, apples, pears, oranges
Red Apple

Meats

Any meat given should be lean, cooked to allow for removing as much fat as possible, and unseasoned
Beef, chicken, pork, venison, turkey, rabbit, ostrich, duck, white fish
*Note for cat owners: I sometimes grill an extra chicken breast for my cat. I shred it up and give her a little bit each day as a treat. I make sure to give just the lean meat.
Grilled chicken

Starches

Potato, sweet potato, rice, rice cakes, plain breads, popcorn (plain/unbuttered)
Sweet potatoes

Commercial Treats

Generally these are all ok. Be sure to read ingredient lists fully. Choose treats made in the US when possible.

Chew Toys

Soft chewing toys are the way to go: Kongs, nylabones, etc. Always supervise chewing to make sure your pet enjoys the treat safely.
Dog kong toys

I have two final pieces of advice to share.
First: If you’re giving a new treat or food for the first time, give a SMALL amount. New things need to be tested out gradually and carefully to be sure they’re going to agree with your pet’s digestive system.
Second: Give ONE new thing at a time. This way you’ll know which items are a good fit for your pet.

PS: Special thanks to Alton Brown for the idea!

4 Comments

Filed under food

4 responses to “Good Treats

  1. Spectacular idea, a DO list!

    We have so many DON’T lists, and they’re all very long. It takes forever to read through everything, and then I end up going over it all again to make sure I didn’t miss something.

    Not only am I saving this post, I’m writing it out and putting up inside a cupboard door for easy reference 🙂 THANKS!!!

  2. I’m sure Ellie will be even more excited! 🙂 Thanks for the comment, as always!

  3. Sue and John Foster

    As always, appreciate the good info – thanks!

Leave a Reply

